The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Sandside sunset (No. 331)

The sun has set behind the Old Man of Coniston, the wedge shaped mass of Whitbarrow reflects in the waters of the Kent, while the mother of all sunsets continues to intensify. I took so many photographs as the colours changed that choosing just one was difficult, and I am not sure if this is even one of the better ones.

I had been working at the allotment in the evening, the first time for several weeks - and it showed, the seedbank had unleashed a vast number of creeping buttercup seedlings, docks and various other undersirables, amongst which it was difficult to find my tiny leek and chard plants. The air was still and the midges were homing in on my face and hands. After an hour or so, I was making progress...but the thin and wispy clouds were hinting that tonight would be one of the best sunsets of the year. So I couldn't resist going to watch yet another Sandside sunset.

This photograph was taken from the edge of the sandbank seen in Monday's blip. With no wind, the surface of the water was still but for a gentle flow down the Kent channel, perfect for reflections.

A backblip - I couldn't face an hour long struggle with the whirrlitzer after I got home at 1030 pm. This weekend, with any luck, we may acquire the new computer, and blip life will be a whole lot easier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.