Enzo the Baker

By Enzo

Finally

I decided to return to the world of Mac. I used the original Macintosh back in the mid 80s, when it would do anything, and smile,  while the other machines in the office were dumb terminals for a Unix system. I even learned how to hack file headers on corrupted floppies to get the contents back - this was something Windows manages more easily, since the only clue to a file's type is the easily re-written extension. This is inherited from CP/M, which I spoke once. 

But I drifted into the half-price hardware of Windows and am still mildly bewildered by the barefaced cheek and huge markups which Apple succeed in charging. Bit like travelling Business, perhaps: 10% more legroom and width, and a glass or two, for three times the fare. 

So now I am a Business Class laptop user and of course it is very pleasant. I also have the cheerful satisfaction that when The Donald said Boycott Apple, I went out to the Apple Store and gave them quite a lot of money. 

Now I have to learn a new language of touch: two fingers for a right click, and so on. Much more fun than getting on with any of the mountain of work waiting to be attacked. 

And I'm now a shareholder in Blipfoto: a small concession to community capitalism. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.