A day of confusion

Well yesterday's ear infection didn't turn out to be that at all! I woke up with the right side of my face paralysed!! Goodness gracious. You just don't know what a day is going to hold. So my pic is of the sun thankfully showing up but a day filled with confusion and anxiety and blur.

I headed straight to my GP and he diagnosed straight away that I have Bell's Palsy. Shock horror! He let me know, just to inform me, that there's a 50/50 chance that I may not recover from this. I left his surgery in tears. And found a friend outside and cried on their shoulder.

This is my new reality. One of the receptionist was kind enough to give me a list of hospital emergency rooms so I could see a neurologist as a matter of urgency rather than wait till Monday morning. So Martin and I headed off into HK Sanatorium where we met a wonderful doctor who was very comforting and said acupuncture will be the best way forward with physio and it could be 1-6 months before full recovery.

So left there a bit more hopeful and encouraged but wishing this wasn't happening.

Had a quiet evening trying to figure out how to live with half a face!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.