Poorly Primroses

I was SO p***** off with #blipfoto last night after I had spent at least an hour writing my entry, and lost the whole text when #blipfoto had signed me out of the server before I'd published it, that I cannot bring myself to upload my photo of yesterday - yet.

Up early this morning to tray and catch some shots in the frost. I had hoped for the golden glow that appears in the sky when the sun has just risen in winter, but the weather decided to be cloudy instead.

Basil and I wrapped up well and went for a walk around Nanpantan Reservoir. It was freezing. These primroses didn't look at all happy. It was even possible to differentiate individual ice crystals.

The second female grebe seems to have acknowledged her place and is keeping well clear of the pair, who are displaying their courtship rituals from time to time.

No sign of the swans that I saw on Saturday. The Canada Geese pair were also absent. Moorhens are busy wading across the water. Their feet are giant claws without webbing between the toes making it harder for them to swim than ducks.

The miscegenated Indian Runner/Mallard was doing his ablutions.

Then back home and yet another 3-4 hours on the Gothla website. Why does it seem to be taking so long this year? Probably because I tried my hand at designing a small animated gif in Photoshop to pop on the front page to celebrate the tenth anniversary, meaning that I had to find out how to do it first. That took time.

Then drafting the first newsletter of this year's campaign. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.