54stairs

By MarnieL

Mono Monday - Leap

My photo for Mono Monday is the leap into the future, from which there is no going back, that one must take when opening an old locked box to reveal it's long-kept secrets. 

This old lock is attached to an old wooden box that always sat atop my Grandfather's dresser. The box isn't pretty, is damaged in a few places, and was repaired by my grandmother using the sticky white tape that she liked to use for such jobs.

I don't recall any deep dark secrets from this particular box - a few papers and some American and Canadian coins are all of the contents that I remember from my childhood. I will have to ask my father if it contained anything else.

The box now sits empty on my window sill and changes locations in the house from time to time, waiting to hold some memories for my own grandchildren...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.