My life

By pops

St David's Day

Happy St David's Day to all you Welsh folk out there!
My first non-mono blip since my return I was going to blip the trusty daffodils always in my kitchen at this time of year, then had a trip out to Morrisons and spotted these leeks - probably more appropriate to my welsh roots as dad grew leeks along with just about any other veg you can think of.

He grew everything he could to feed the family but also entered local shows. The leeks for showing were treated well, grown in narrow pipes to maintain the straightness and protect them from light with the long green leaves gently tied to stop them trailing onto the soil.. He was a frequent winner so must have been doing something right!

Well done to those who spotted the error on the calendar yesterday- no Tuesday's in Rhodes Greece this year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.