AMK49

By AMK49

The Garden Rock

This large rock sits in the middle of our front lawn and comes from the farm where I was brought up - it was dislodged by a plough and comes from a field not far from a deep sided field we call the Gully which has not been ploughed since WW2 - I have always presumed it was moved by a glacier although somewhat smaller than the one we saw recently in New Zealand.

I feel I now have part of the farm in my garden and this rock is very popular with our older grandchildren and with neighbours' children for climbing on and sitting in the hollow. It took a bit of transporting but my brother kindly drove it in the large bucket on his Manitou fork lift and deposited it in the hollow I had dug for it.

The egg looks a bit silly but it was the first thing that came to hand when I wanted to show it is fairly large rock.! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.