The Wren

By TheWren

Antelope canyon

I know this is a very, very back blip but it is of such a special place that I thought i should add it in.  This is taken in Antelope Canyon which is an incredible slot canyon formed many, many years ago when the Colorado River flooded.  It took my son and me an hour and a half to walk through the canyon - with a guide - having first descended three very steep stairways to reach the floor. It was totally spectacular to see how the water and wind had coursed through the slot to form wonderful patterns and waves in the sandstone.  Suffice to say that I took 200 photos and my son 400. This isn't the most spectacular photo but it does give you the impression of how narrow the canyon is and what kind of shapes have been formed.  I thoroughly recommend this place to visit if you are ever lucky enough to be in the area.  we continued the day with a visit to another well known visitor attraction which is the Horseshoe bend on the Colorado River.  We then started our long way back to Las Vegas having enjoyed a truly unforgettable trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.