Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

A Sea of Tea

Tough day today. I woke up to the news that we were out of teabags. After the initial crippling horror, I said to myself "Chris... get a hold of yerself son...  it's just tea... you got this. You can survive one day without..."

So try I did. I got the shakes. And the twitches. And the kettle couldn't understand why I kept switching it on but not pouring any water out, so, by 10am I thought I would chance a cup of coffee instead. No good. As Sting once said - ' I don't take coffee, I take tea my dear'.

And then miracle upon miracles I found a lonely, hidden solitary teabag behind the teabag jar. Figuring I could make it last the day, by re-using it at least 3 times, I held off for as long as possible... and I made my first cuppa. 

And then my tea-making autopilot kicked in and I immediately walked to the bin and tipped the teabag off the spoon.

It was like time slowed down as I watched the bag fall - ever slower into the depths of the black bag. The horror returned. I briefly entertained the idea of retrieving and washing the teabag, but it was no good. 'Twas lost forever.

But, somehow, that one cup of tea managed to keep me going through the day. I rationed myself. 4 sips per 20 minutes. Microwaving as I went. And I made it.

Mrs G finally returned with renewed supplies and the world was once again right. 

Nobody questioned why I filled the table with cups of tea. I think they understood. It was a tough day.

After all where would we be without tea?

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.