Pukeko Sunbathing.

I didn't to get out much today, but did make a quick trip to the Sanctuary Ponds - where absolutely nothing was happening . But I did spot this solitary pukeko who was standing with his wings partially spread. Now, I know that shags do this to dry out their wings, but  have never seen a pukeko do this before and really, they shouldn't need to as they don't swim under water.

I stood for around 15 minutes with the camera trained on him, waiting for some action but he just stood there. Eventually I lost patience and left him to it. With one thing and another, there were no more photos taken today.

I do wonder though, why he was standing there for so long with half spread wings.

It was exciting this morning to find I was one of 5 runners up in the 'eye catching' competition as part of the  Emma Davies course "A Year With The Camera". Having forgotten I had entered, it came as a lovely surprise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.