Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Facebook

The little cottage we rent out to tourists has a unique name, deliberately. If you Google its name you come up with nothing except for advertisements and reviews of our little cottage, plus its Facebook page. Except that it does not have a Facebook page. The Facebook page one finds on Google is an 'Unofficial Page' created based on what people who use Facebook are interested in. It isn't affiliated with or endorsed by anyone associated with it. Well, I thought, if I sign up to Facebook I can claim this page and then put up a little cottage diary similar, but not the same as my blip entries.

So, I signed up to Facebook, had to give them my actual date of birth, spent most of an evening trying to find out how to make that invisible to any passer-by and then tried to claim our cottage's Facebook page. Apparently that feature is not available in our location. I beg your pardon? You, Mr Zuckerberg, have the power to create Facebook pages for businesses anywhere in the world, but if they happen to be in the 'wrong' part of the world the owners cannot own them? Tsk, I feel a Ryanair-style rant coming on.

So then I thought well hey, let's edit what's there. I was at least able to add our home phone number and our business email address to the cottage's own Facebook page, and a photo, but it seems that anybody on Facebook can do that and there is nothing I can do to prevent total strangers from editing my business page.

So then I tried setting up a business page of my own for my own business, and do you know what? Facebook requires a street address for that. We don't have street addresses on tiny Greek islands Mr Zuckerberg. I am sorry that the rest of the world does not fit your template but it's time you learned to adapt. I cannot of course contact Facebook via phone, Facebook or email but I will send them a letter to their postal address :-)

Spring has come ludicrously early this year, I saw our first poppy open on 1st Feb and the Judas tree was in full bloom by mid Feb. What with February having been International Holy Wells Month I had no time for wild flowers so I thought I would spend March bringing you (and the cottage's vast Facebook following) a taste of Greek Spring and abundant wildflowers. The little camera doesn't want to play of course but at least I occasionally manage to remember the Smartphone. Lucky I did today because this little fella had fallen into our empty pool and so wanted to be my first ever Facebook entry. Sorry Zuckerberg – you missed out!


Backblip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.