Oh to be a biology teacher

I have often envied Biology teachers with the natural (tee-hee) interest their subject can and should evokes in pupils.
Today there I was explaining away the finer points of fractions to 11 year olds, and those who know me will not recognise this an area of my real expertise, when there is a commotion as the pupils in the next door Biology lab all traipse out of the building and get in a bus. Half an hour later they are back and next lesson appear in my class. what had been going on?
They had been to see the humpback whale washed up on one of Barra's beaches. I am sure most of you would have recognised the blip straight away as the flanks and fin of a humpback whale.  
I at least managed to sneak a visit after school and there is a more "traditional" shots of the poor wee, ten metre, beastie in the extra photos.
Sad but impressive and hugely educational.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.