Hopeton01

By Hopeton01

Hopeton01 - Tea at the Ritz

Another birthday but a very different treat . . .

Afternoon Tea at the Ritz has been on my 'Bucket List' since hearing from some friends about it back in the early 90's. Well, I was very lucky to be treated by H to one today.

As an experience, it was every bit as fabulous as I could have hoped for. Sandwiches cut perfectly, exquisite petits-four, fragrant lemon verbena tea, a live pianist who used to play for Frank Sinatra  and, to cap it all, a cake commissioned especially for me & presented while the pianist played 'Happy Birthday'. Wonderful. (See the Extra for the cake.)

I chatted with the pianist afterwards-his name is Ian Gomes; we share a love of Swing music & Nat King Cole. He asked my favourite song by Nat and when I said, "A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square", he immediately played it, delightfully. A perfect touch.

A huge, huge Thank You to H for a truly fantastic day an experience.

Below is  a much-loved poem of mine:

"Answered Prayer
I asked God for strength, that I might achieve.
I was made weak, that I might learn humbly to obey.

I asked for health, that I might do great things.
I was given infirmity, that I might do better things.

I asked for riches, that I might be happy.
I was given poverty, that I might become wise.

I asked for power, that I might have the praise of men.
I was given weakness, that I might feel the need for God.

I asked for all things, that I might enjoy life.
I was given Life, that I might enjoy all things.

I got nothing that I asked for, but everything I had hoped for.
Almost despite myself, my unspoken prayers and true needs were fulfilled.

I am, among all men, most richly blessed."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.