Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Portlandness

I've not done a blip about a Portlandness thing in a while.  This one is in my neighborhood.  Steve Slavik and his family live on NE Hancock Street and have been organizing a St. Patrick's Day Parade for years, this year will be the 27th.  A little bit of history about the Slavik's parade here, it's pretty amusing and the parade each year is an ad hoc affair.  I've never intentionally been to the parade but as it's close by I inevitably see the parade go by, as the piece says, there are always more participants than watchers but it's just one of those lovely and weird things that I'm glad people do.  The parade count down board was not plugged in or illuminated as I was walking home this evening, bummer!  

The extras are more signs from the neighborhood.  The stop sign is one where I rescued a dog a while ago from a driver that was just about to blow through without stopping, this is obviously becoming more of a problem and a neighbor has something to say about it, quite right!  The other of the felled tree just made me laugh.

There was lumber jacking at my house today, all the cypress trees are down, the trunks went home with the arborist for firewood, the rest was chipped.  It went very quickly and smoothly, no hassles.  Next week the stumps will be dug out, carefully, and then 12 new and healthy yew trees will be going in.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.