Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

David

at the piano for choir practice.

       At least I picked up the camera today.  I'm a man; I shouldn't try to do more than two things at the same time: sing, blip, play recorder, shuffle music  . . .

       A better day than yesterday.  I finally took some cardboard and plastics to be recycled.  I noted weird dreams; played some music and watched a little TV.

       About twenty years ago I worked part time for an opinion research company.  One query we had of the public was would you watch a television channel devoted to classic TV programmes and old TV commercials?  A couple of years later the channel was broadcasting on cable and then satellite and did indeed show classic television from the late fifties and sixties, and showed vintage ads of that era.  The channel is still on air and produces some of its own content though it no longer shows the old commercials.  One programme I really like watching is The Andy Griffith Show  as this was still in re-runs when I was first in the US and was a show that I believe never aired on British TV.  It is  quintessential wholesome small town Americana.  The programme also starred Don Knotts and featured a young boy, Ron Howard, as Opie. It was a spin-off from The Danny Thomas Show  and ran for eight seasons from 1960 to 1968.  And my point?  Only to note that I'm getting the habit of watching escapist TV in the afternoons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.