A Scurry of Squirrels

I saw quite a few squirrels down the track this morning. I'd popped up to the postbox by the parish church and decided I'd have a quick look down the track on the way back home.
There were lots of birds flying between the trees and my neighbour's bird feeders by no squirrels, at first. I walked a little bit further and seeing movement on the trunk of a tree, I zoomed in to see a bushy tail and little squirrel face trying to hide from me and the camera. I got a few dark shots and then watched in delight whilst two squirrels zoomed about the truck and leapt across branches back to their dray.
The woodpecker has been drumming on the electricity pole for quite a while now but I thought it was coming from a different place. I walked in the direction of the old nest when a large brown bird of prey flew out of the trees a bit further down the track. I'm pretty sure it was a buzzard, which would explain the pigeon feathers on the path!  I couldn't find the woodpecker, I expect both me and buzzard spooked it.
I did find this cheeky chappy sitting very comfortably up in a tree. It's a great spot as the light is so much better for photos. He stayed around for a while and then zoomed off like squirrels do.
I've put more shots on Flickr if you want to have a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.