Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

Empty vessels…...

……purely on a whim, but mainly because I've got all the ingredients and some extras, I've decided to make some tomato and roasted red pepper ketchup (possibly with added chilli)…..anyway, it's way too cold to wander far today ;-) 

LATER: Done the deed and it's delicious!

What I did (because I looked up a few recipes and then made up my own)
Chop a small red onion and fry gently in oil until softened and tranluscent, add 2T sugar and cook for another couple of minutes (don't let it burn!), add a tin of chopped tomatoes, about half as much pre-roasted red pepper (I used home-made, but the stuff you buy in jars would work too), 2T tomato puree, 1t sumac, 1t smoked paprika, 1t minced chilli, 3T balsamic vinegar……simmer gently for about 15 minutes……blitz….cool…..bottle…..then wash down the kitchen walls, rinse specs under the tap and change into clean clothes if your blitzing skills are anything like mine…..

NB 
T=Tablespoon
t=teaspoon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.