Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sing it, Little Dude!

For the last two weeks, the sound of spring birdsong has been slowly starting to fill the air.  The cardinals are singing, the titmice are whistling, even the juncos are starting to sing their spring songs.  

When I lost the hearing in my right ear nearly 8 ago, it was a reminder to me that our lives are made richer by the sounds we hear (well, not all of them, but many...)  Since then, I've become much more aware of things like spring birdsong - and I sometimes just stand outside and listen.  It's just starting now, really, odd little bits of song here and there...but soon, very soon, their air will be alive with song.  I can't wait.  

Bonus shot of a Junco, here on Flickr - he has just been singing a short bit of his trilling song, probably practicing before he heads north to his summer breeding grounds.

So today, it's a simple titmouse, singing his "Peter-Peter" song.  The temperatures may say "winter" today, but the birds say otherwise.  

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.