Traditional dresses

Emergency blip. My mother used to make costumes for dolls and handed them out to the entire family. For herself she made a Sunday costume for a large doll. Having done one, she made another Sunday dress for a regular doll which I got. That's the one on the left.

The little one in the middle was the very first she made, if memory serves me well. To try out. The one on the right she made for herself. The latter two came into my posession somewhere over the last years, when she didn't have so much room any more to put them.

These costumes were traditional dresses for farmer wives in Friesland, you can see the gold in the necklace and on their head. Rich farmer wives.I remember well our visits to Friesland where we spent time at a stall to buy all the little items to go with the dress, little scissors and clips for the handbags. Good memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.