Bird Of Prey Day

It was a beautifully sunny morning in Essex. Jazzy dog and I had nice walk down the field and I got pics of wheezing greenfinches, buzzards and Kes sitting in the ash tree in the garden.

After lunch I went to Heartswood forest near St Albans for the first time. This is a small area of ancient woodland and a vast stand of saplings planted by volunteers in farmland bought by The Woodland Trust.

I shot a red kite soon after I arrived and was told there was a little owl in an ivy-covered stump but I couldn't spot it. I captured my closest ever image of a kestrel on an oak sapling. 

I had heard about the short-eared owls and met a few people who were hoping to shoot them. Nobody had got lucky and then it started raining. I sat in the car until it stopped and sallied forth again. I was talking to some women with some lovely greyhounds when I spotted the owls. I didn't manage to get any close shots but I thoroughly enjoyed trying. It's quite difficult as they swoop between the saplings. Won't be long until these wonderful birds leave for Scandinavia.

I've added the kestrel and more gorgeous greyhounds Susie and Sid in extras.

     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.