Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

The Homeless Dog

I took this print from a 1901 book I found in a secondhand bookshop. The book "Storyland in Pictures" was originally published for children and contains little stories, often with a moral, and beautiful illustrations.

I hope the text can be read. It is very sad and depicts an era long before many animal rescue centres were in existence, although Battersea Dogs Home in London was founded in 1860 as the Temporary Home for Lost and Starving Dogs.
Hopefully the dog in the illustration was found a home.

In the UK we now have Rescue Centres that are full of unwanted dogs and cats, and they have to turn many away. Some centres resort to worse procedures because they have no room. It's a sorry state of affairs.

I have this picture on a wall in my study. I ran out of time for an outdoor blip, and decided to share this .

I hope everyone has a good Friday evening. Looking forward to some good TV tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.