OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Blind

The remains of a shooting blind at Mill Sand on the west shore of Deer Sound. Behind me is a freshwater pool so I think that's where the shooters would be looking. I went to Tankerness hoping to see an avocet reported there. The bus didn't go down to the sands so I had to get off at Groatsetter Farm and walk the road. Just as I debussed a female merlin flew from the farmyard onto a fencepost and I had great views in the binoculars. I walked to the sands and took some photos before locating the avocet feeding in the shallows. Only the second I have seen anywhere. It may even be the same bird that was in the area back in September. Better views this time though. Still well beyond decent photo range. Lots of other birds on the sands...over 60 shelduck, 50 bar-tailed godwit, lots redshank curlew, oystercatcher etc. Bird numbers are growing as spring progresses. More shots here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/octobermoth/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.