Lot

By Lot

Vegan American pancakes

I believe that every country has its own type of pancakes. Americans have a small, thick version that you should preferably eat with maple syrup; the French have crèpes, which are very thin (I only ate them on holiday in Paris as a quick snack/lunch); we, the Dutch, have pannenkoeken, which are also flat but thicker than crèpes; I recently read a recipe for Finnish pancakes which I haven't tried yet, but I am sture other countries have there own versions too.

When I was looking on the internet for a recipe for vegan pancakes, I mostly found the American version. I had never made them, but I had eaten them before because my landlady in Guatemala made them for breakfast (I never found out if Guatemalans have a pancake-version of their own). And this is my first try to make them myself. Pretending that I was still making something healthy, I used spelt flour. And because they had to be vegan I used soy milk. The result was very nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.