Motherhood

Technically I'm sprawled out on the sofa listening to the sumptuous Scott Hamilton performing Body & Soul whilst drinking champagne and chomping on olives, but prior to this lie back and think of England moment I was painting walls all morning. Further the shampoo is CC's to celebrate her being the precious mother of MCC and this kind of gets me all watery eyed for several reasons.

Firstly my music mix has fallen into Sarah McLachlan singing Angel and it's pretty hard to do anything other than find several tears when you're listening to beauty such as this.

Secondly there's the matter of our gorgeous daughter. When CC & I met we had no idea that one day we would have a child, no idea whatsoever. CC & I were pals first for many years with no suggestion of anything other. She made me laugh. She was funky, cool, pretty, into film and reading and massively into music. At this point I should add that my music mix has magically found the incredible Johnny Cash singing the classic Bridge Over Troubled Water.

Anyhow CC fascinated me. She was beholding to no one and to find that rare quality in a pal was simply wonderful. She supported me in my various bands and came to my parties and was, as a friend should be, there for me. We would chat and chat about interesting things, that is things that were interesting to us.

Our lives changed and we found ourselves beautifully, happily, deliciously together and that was stunning enough, and yet fate had a card to play. It was a girl, a baby girl.

At this point Neil Young has joined me singing the mighty Old Man. Neil Young. Ah yes.

CC & I found out we were expecting and suddenly our life took a dramatic turn. We went to the scans and the check ups and there she was. Yes, her, our girl. There are times in life when pretty much all that is thrown against you counts as nothing as something so incredibly powerful takes over every minuscule part of your body and makes happiness pour out of your body. Seeing her for the first time was such a moment.

Alexi Murdoch sings Through the Dark and I smile as I think back to first hearing his great voice in a record shop in majestic Edinburgh.

I think of my Mother now & CC's mum who has left us physically but sits here by her daughter right now, and I thank Mother Nature for the blessing that is birth and motherhood. I mean, my god, how joyous to know and to give love.

It is fitting that my blip finishes whilst listening to the marvellous & beautiful & incredible Longview playing Still. They released one glorious, scintillating, mouth watering album. I saw them live twice and their music ripped your heart out.

To Mothers everywhere, I salute you. Good times are coming. Oh yes.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.