Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Flowers for my Mum

There was a time when I couldn't have done this, photographing the flowers I have ready to take to her tomorrow, as Mum was an avid viewer of my journal on Blipfoto.  Regrettably, as time has passed her ability to use an iPad has dwindled to the point where regular checks of the device indicated that she was not using it at all.

It is a great shame as, for someone who was chair bound, it provided a window on the world and also my activities from day to day.  She took great pleasure in sharing my Blipfoto images with anyone willing to look, much to my embarrassment on occasion, as she would be my greatest advocate, even when I was in the same room.  Her world is now just four walls, even television has proven difficult to watch because of failing eyesight.

Old age is one of our greatest challenges.  All well and good if you remain fit and healthy, but while the medical profession has become ever more capable at keeping people alive, quality of life in old age still remains elusive for many.  I will share time with her tomorrow, on Mothering Sunday, but we will not have the intimacy of maternal friendship that has been the hallmark of our relationship throughout my life.  My confidante has gone, conversation will be halting, words will be misheard and silences will lengthen.  

I hark back to the last days of my Father's life and a memory of intimate  discussions, finding out things about his life that I had never known.  I doubt it will be the same with Mum, which leaves me sad.

Happy Mothering Sunday to all of the mothers of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.