TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

A Night For Crab Legs

I developed a yearning for some seafood (more specifically, crab legs) over the weekend, so I asked my daughter, Cheyenne (who is also a crab leg aficionado) to accompany me to dinner this evening.
Now, I am not a huge fan of Red Lobster, but since that is the only local restaurant (I believe) that serves crab legs, we arranged a rendezvous there for 5:00 pm. 
My dinner plate of snow crab leg cluster, grilled corn on the cob, baked potato (with butter and sour cream, of course!) and famous Cheddar Bay biscuits was so very colorful and enticing that I just had to snap a photo before digging in...which I did in short order...with gusto. Yum!

it is at moments after I have steamed
a prepared containment of crab legs.
when (bringing drool to taste) I have dreamed

with the hungering mouth that longingly waits
for moments when the drawn butter is served

the succulent appendages of the crab
(served up with beers always) and claws preferred
such sweetness as is mine with each leg i grab;

moments when the tines of my endeavoring forks
are filled with mouthwatering, tender meat
with the contentment and the flavor it transports:

one cracked moment whiter and more sweet

-dancing with a nutcracker for a steamed buffet
i savor the legs of a seafood ballet.

~ Jim Asher, Great American Poets Repoemed, Volume 1 - A New Look at Classic Poems of Emily Dickinson, E.E. Cummings, & Robert Frost

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.