shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Caught in the rush

It was actually a fairly quiet day, a long lie, some photos of the street taken out of the hotel window, low quality, but convey the madness that is life on the road here, and then a trip out to the seaside, sadly my photos are rubbish as having just got out of an air-conditioned van there were some condensation issues. I can now say that I have paddled in the Bay of Bengal! After that we headed to the airport, thinking we were running very close to time, but in the end made it with plenty of time as the plane was an hour late. Arriving in Dhaka it was already dark, so I've not seen much more than the road from the airport to the TLM Office, which took a long time because of the traffic jam. I did enjoy the nice touch of the folk wandering along the rows of cars selling snacks and newspapers to the stranded drivers and passengers, it reminded me of trips on Russian trains, except it would have been sunflower seeds rather than peanuts we bought!

A busy four days of meetings are ahead of me, but I hope to see at least a little of the city. First impressions are that it is higher than Chittagong (i.e. the buildings are taller), and the roads are wider and a little less chaotic. In relative terms, you understand.

Thanks to you all for the nice comments on the previous blips of my trip, glad you've been enjoying these blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.