The sunny side of the street

I went to Cardigan for a change and the weather was much better there although its only 15 miles away.
Sam was sitting outside the Branwen charity shop (it's the domestic abuse service for West Wales) looking like a tropical bird among the rest of us starlings. I'd never met him before but he was quite happy for me to take his picture and I was reminded of an earlier visit to the town when, armed with a little disposable camera, I took a photo of Charlie for the When You're A Stranger project.
All the results of that experiment are now viewable here: 153 portraits taken on 20 cameras that were passed from blipper to blipper all around  the world and (mostly) got back to base with their  cargo of 'strangers'. 

My camera, Number 15, managed to capture 8 portraits starting in Bellingham in the State of Washington USA and thence travelling to Oxford, Bristol, Ireland and Wales (Connections, Arachne, Serpentine, Freespiral and myself) as well as passing through the hands of three blippers in Denmark.
There's been some discussion on Blipfoto recently about the invasion of privacy that photography can represent but the When You're a Stranger exercise, though challenging, did demonstrate that a camera can also be a point of contact. I encountered Sam elsewhere later in the day and we greeted each other as friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.