Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

An old puff

As I may have mentioned before, I am a hoarder,  from a long line of hoarders.

Yesterday, Mrs T decided to clean out the bathroom cupboard and chose a number of items for the dustbin. Amongst them was this old powder puff, made from blue silk and swan's-down, stuffed with kapok and ancient straw and equipped with an ivory handle. I think that I may have persuaded her that we should keep it. After all it was used to powder my grandmother after her bath when she was a baby. Then it powdered my mother and her brother, then me, then our two Talpids.

The puff used to sit in a lacquered papier-mâché powder box but when the younger Talpid arrived his older sister flushed it down the toilet in a fit of jealousy! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.