Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Chair restoration.....further update.

          Further to my blip yesterday of turning the 'Rail' for the chair, I have now inserted it in the holes in the legs and glued it in. The 'rail' in question is the bottom left one in the shot.
          I had previously sanded the chair down in preparation of the wood dye (Georgian Mahogany) which as you can see I have now applied.
One coat only at the moment, to leave it to thoroughly dry. I will apply another coat, leave that to dry and then very lightly sand it with a very fine grit sand paper.
          This takes off any small dust particles. I will then wipe clean and then apply the polish.(2 or 3 coats) By doing this it leaves a really smooth surface and helps with the application of the polish and ultimately the finish of it. 
         
If you look back to Feb 27th blip, you will see the difference between then and now.

The next blip on the chair will be the finished item.
bit more work to do yet.!!!

Hope you are enjoying the restoration of this unusual chair.

Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.