Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Moon and Venus

Early photo today, when I saw Venus hanging around not too far from the Moon.

Rather pleased with one thing in particular today: I got a reply from Kancho Sims to an email I sent yesterday. In my email I had (among other things)  asked about a particular movement in the kata Empi; I've seen it performed a number of different ways, so wanted to make sure I had it correct for Chidokan. He replied, but not in the way I had expected. He talked about the application of the movement, and then described some of the ways it is performed.

He didn't say X or Y is the way you should do it.

Now that leads to one of two possibilities: 1. that it doesn't matter; 2. I'm getting to the point where he is happy for me to bring my own interpretation and preferences to bear on my performance of kata.

I cannot see Kancho regarding any movement as not mattering - which leads me to the second explanation. - Which pleases me immensely, particularly as he's previously written to me that advanced dan grades perform kata differently, and in a more individual way.

Feeling quite pleased. 8)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.