Mono Monday: Street

This shot taken in Dimboola in western Victoria is pretty typical of an Australian country town.

We passed through plenty today on our way from Bordertown to Deniliquin where we are spending tonight.

It was a frustrating arrival though.
With temperatures up to 42.5C I was hanging out for a swim so I selected a motel with a pool.
It was only after we had checked in we discovered it was the wrong one - Deniliquin Motor Inn is right next door to Deniliquin Motel but it has NO POOL (probably the only one in town without).
A first world problem I know but I was pretty unhappy there for a while.
And to rub salt into the wound this one is $35 more expensive :-(

Just out of town we passed Pink Lake which I've loaded as an extra. It is a dry salt lake and the pink comes from a pigment secreted by microscopic algae.
It reminds me of similar selfies taken on frozen lakes in Siberia, but there the temperature was 50-60C lower.

Thanks Trisharooni for hosting MM. You have a task ahead of you to choose from the entries I've seen so far for this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.