angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

hiding

...we went back to Studland, this afternoon, to check on our nightjar and are pleased to report that mum and eggs are still fine. It is an ironic fact that the poor weather for holiday-makers is helping to reduce the risk of disturbance by humans to her nest site.

On our way across the heath to the dunes, we went to our favourite site for sand lizards, which is where I spotted the first Dark Green Fritillary Argynnis aglaja that I have seen in the area this year. I just managed to capture this image of her hiding in the grass before she flew over the marshes not to be seen again!

There were several sand lizards about but the most interesting was a male who caught and devoured a snail while we watched. I have blipped these colourful lizards before so I have posted a few images of him on our blog...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.