MonoMonday .........

 ........... MM111 - "Street"

I was at a bit of a loss for this but late in the evening I had a bit of a brainwave - whilst clearing out yet another of the boxes from Mum's I found this.

Definitely a street - it's The Shambles in York and looks much the same today.   Mum had named and signed it - AME - her maiden name initials. 

I am assuming it was something my Gran kept as it is her writing bottom right saying "Alma aged 12" and then after Gran died Mum kept it.  It could have been drawn after a possible school trip to York in 1942 but, as the war was on I think it more likely that Mum copied it from somewhere.    She always had a talent for drawing and painting and could play the piano by ear - we had a piano in the house until I was about 12.  She couldn't sing for toffee!!!!!  lol

So ......... my offering for this week's MonoMonday - thanks for hosting Trisharooni - and a lovely keepsake from my Mum - I might just have this framed - it's a bit tatty round the edges but it is now 74 years old.

~ Anni ~


Posted a day late on Tuesday 8th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.