"Bunny Snax!" Starring Binky Bunzini

I have mentioned that my husband has a way with rabbits. I never knew this about him until we moved into a house in a rural area with a great big yard where the rabbits come to play. It has unleashed something in him, something new. He has become . . . a bunny whisperer.

First, there was Mini Bunzini, the rabbit that he befriended last winter, along with several of her friends. He fed them every day, especially in the coldest, snowiest months of last winter. They rewarded us by entertaining us with their shenanigans all winter long.

Then last summer, we met Binky Bunzini, offspring of Mini Bunzini. Binky became friends with my husband, but disappeared for a while, and then came back. We have occasionally seen Binky around this winter, but it hasn't been too rough of a winter, and the bunny has so far only appeared when the weather was at its coldest and snowiest.

However, this was a fine, springlike day. But there the bunny was, in the yard, asking for snacks! We do not know if the bunny is male or female, so we take turns referring to it as "he" or "she." (I'm betting on "she.") My husband came in from the yard and said, "The bunny cornered me, and is asking for snacks!"

So he put together a tiny bunny plate, which included one small baby carrot, sliced; one plump dried cherry, cut into four little pieces; and four peanut halves. I watched from inside the window downstairs as the bunny arrived, sniffed around for snacks, and then practically tackled my husband when he put the plate of food out!

Binky immediately set to work, eating all of the food on the little plate within less than five minutes. However, my husband assures me that the bunny thoroughly chewed every morsel of food, the way one is supposed to do.

Then Binky's little whiskers twitched as she licked the crumbs off her nose. She quickly hopped over to the chair my husband was sitting in, chinned his ankles and his shoes, and then hopped away, off to do other bunny stuff that was on her agenda!

You know, I marvel at the husband-bunny show every time I see it. It is a friendship that seems to be good for both of them. My husband is providing a bit of extra snackage to ensure the welfare of the bun. And the bun, in turn, is a good and gentling influence on my husband. It's a mutual affair, and everybody wins! The song to accompany this image of bunny snackology is Bon Jovi, with I'll Be There For You.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.