Day at a Time

By Tweedy

A fond farewell

This is a photograph of somewhere that has meant an awful lot to me for the past 12.5 years of my working life. It is the side view of Walton Hall at the Open University campus in Milton Keynes. I've worked for the OU since 2003, a much shorter time than many colleagues, but it has been without doubt the best job I've ever had and the best I could have wished for. I've spent many, many, many days in Milton Keynes since 2003 though not so many in the past year or so. My base is in Edinburgh, but I've done a lot of work here at the 'centre'. Today is my last visit to Walton Hall, at least as a permanent member of staff. I'm looking forward to new challenges after Easter but at the moment I'm finding it quite hard to leave. My extra is just how I've always felt.

What a legacy the OU is for Jennie Lee - every day of course but on International Women's Day especially. Even in these times of great change it is a peerless institution and I am so proud to have been the tiniest part of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.