Plus ça change...

By SooB

Elusive yeah buts

Do you have the time to listen to me whine
About nothing and everything all at once
I am one of those
Melodramatic fools
Neurotic to the bone no doubt about it

Sometimes I give myself the creeps
Sometimes my mind plays tricks on me
It all keeps adding up
I think I'm cracking up
Am I just paranoid?

(Green Day, Basket Case)

It's been one of those days. Sometimes life feels a bit rubbish, but you can always reassure yourself that "yeah, but at least ..... is going well". Today I couldn't find my 'yeah but'.

So I tried another tactic: being super-extraordinary-out-of-my-way-nice to everyone. On the pavement I stepped into the road to let people by with a smile, even those annoying 3 abreast 'we don't see you and aren't going to move out of your way' types. No-one in North Berwick was without a cheerful door-holder-open. In the car I let everyone out in front of me. It didn't work.

So I came home and put on my singing in the car playlist extra loud. Including the Green Day one. And I shouted and danced about the kitchen (with apologies to Mrs C next door).

Better now.

And Mr B's home tonight. And the plumber is coming tomorrow to fix the heating. And the weather's a bit warmer today (or I'm just used to the cold now). See: there's the 'yeah buts' I was looking for.


[And yes, for the anally observant, I did miss out the last line of the Green Day chorus as - unless you count a wee glass of red - I'm not]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.