A year through a mobile

By mobileyear

International women's day 2016

Over the last few years (my 40s), I have finally begun to like myself for who I am. Whether others like me or not is entirely up to them and not a decision I can influence so I live for me and be the best that I can be. I am finally happy with myself.

I am lucky. I have a voice, I have freedom and I am allowed to have adult, rational thoughts. I am not oppressed or dominated and I am not told what to do. Not are not all afforded such basic rights. International woman's day is 100 years old today. Why do we have this day? I don't know it's origins but I do know that for 100 years we have taken one day out to shout about our achievements, to be proud of our awesomeness and to say "yeah, we rock!" and we shout out loud for those that can't. Keep going ladies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.