Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Car-nage

I saw Dimitris in town today.
“How is your restaurant now?” I asked
“Now it is good” he replied.
The frogmen were back, almost six moths since the storm, this time with a big crane. It seems that previously they had been inspecting vehicles for victims and attaching buoys for identification later. This time they were attaching strops to vehicles and lifting them out of the water. But six months of salt water corroding the metal and six months of silt washing into the vehicles were not helping. (extras) It was plain to see how deep each vehicle had been buried in silt as the paint colour remained below that line but above was rusted brown. The farther out of the water the cars were lifted the more their superstructure creaked and groaned and buckled under the strain. This one could not be hoisted all the way out and presumably will require a different strategy for attaching the strops.

I had both the temperamental little Sony plus the Samsung smartphone to my armoury and plenty of others wielding cameras were present. As ever the Sony was struggling for a sharp focus but whilst sharp, the pictures from the Samsung lack a certain richness. I cannot define it.

Back home I received a call from the camera shop in Athens;
“Will you pay us by credit card?”
“I already paid you by credit card on Friday”
“Oh yes, but we need proof of identification”
“I sent you copies of my passport and my credit card on Friday too”
“Oh yes, but we do not ship to Skopelos”
“But I paid an extra €5 for delivery”
“Yes, you will have to forget the €5 because we do not ship to Skopelos. We can send it by courier and you will have to pay the courier when it arrives. Which courier do you prefer?”

So, the new Sony will take about another week to get here, I have no idea why, I can travel to Athens in a day so I'm sure a courier can. Carnival will have to be in soft focus I am sorry to say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.