Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Cardinal Love

I promise, not many more Cardinal photos to come.  When the leaves are back on the trees, they are far more difficult to photograph.  How I do love them, though, and will continue to photograph them year after year after year.

When I was a little girl living in P.E.I. (for four years), I used to look through my father's birding books and was always fixated and wistful about the Cardinal.  How desperately I wanted to see one.  I came home triumphant one day claiming that I had seen one.  My folks laughed as they knew my passion for Cardinals and what a vivid imagination I had.  Not long after, I came home with an eggshell to be identified (that was the kind of 6 year old I was  lol).  My father hauled out his large egg identification book....as impossible as it was, the only egg that came close was a Cardinal's.  A lovely blue egg with brown speckles.

That egg has long disappeared with all the moves we did...but the passion remains.  We never did find a nest...or see another Cardinal there.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.