And Immortality

This has been my view today - have graduated from lying in bed, unable to even read, to sitting in armchair, reading, and even taking my own photo. Not sure which is less typical of me - not eating, not reading, not showering (couldn't face the cold) or not taking a photo - all of which I've managed today. So I am grateful, and for this man who's uncomplainingly looked after me (not sure what he's doing with his mouth here).

Today's poem is by Emily Dickinson; this is the first verse:

Because I could not stop for Death -
He kindly stopped for me -
The Carriage held but just Ourselves -
And Immortality.

Easier to think about death when you're suddenly incapacitated by illness, but the truth is He'll stop for us one day, whether we think about it or not. My b-i-l brought me a couple of samples of England's new newspaper - have you seen it? It's called the New Day, and its tagline is "Life is short, let's live it well" - Amen!

(Will go back and add a bit of yesterday's poem - couldn't face reading it yesterday, let alone thinking which bit to blip.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.