54stairs

By MarnieL

Heirloom

When I was growing up, my mother's parents lived a day's drive away. A few times a year, sometimes for special occasions and other times just because, my parents would load me and my four younger brothers into the car and we would go for a visit.

On special occasions, the first step in setting the table was to choose one of Grandma's fine lace tablecloths to adorn the table. My grandmother crocheted beautifully - intricate patterns with fine thread - and worked on some of her many spectacular pieces for thousands of hours.

Several years ago, my mother selected one of Grandma's doilies and had it framed for me. The chosen doily is a beautiful off-white colour that fits perfectly in my home. As I recall Grandma's work, this piece was crafted with slightly larger thread and hooks than Grandma typically used. This very special gift brings back wonderful memories. Thanks, Mom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.