Life on the Edge

Over a metre of snow fell recently in Villars but the sun is already causing avalanches on the south facing slopes and the male Bouquetins are back to eat the exposed grasses. This one was climbing quite steeply not too far from a ski piste. I cannot resist finding a spot where I can sit and observe these magnificent beasts on their territory. I did not know which to publish so there are more in Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/hilarysview/?

The extra shows him lower down with Leysin in the background. I hope you are not getting bored with these Bouquetin shots, this is the first winter I have seen so many, and they are so accessible with a little bit of effort. (Maybe they have been paid by the tourist office to pose for the tourists!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.