IainCloke

By IainCloke

River Flow

There was a lot of brown flood water pouring down the River Don, over the weir and through the centre of Rotherham today. 36 hours of rain and the melt from last week's snow does that.
The water flows with great power and danger but also cleans and sustains our ecosystem.
As we are in the middle of Lent it, as I took a moment on my way, this put me in mind of Isaiah 35 "For waters shall break forth on the wilderness and streams in the desert".
But also the poet David Whyte who wrote:
All the water before me came from above.
All the clouds living in the mountains gave it to the rivers,
who gave it to the sea, which was their dying.....
.... the stories buried in the mountains
Give out into the sea
and the sea remembers
and sings back,
from the depths,
where nothing is forgotten."
From 'Where many rivers meet'
I wonder what stories are flowing through Rotherham today? What is being remembered that will remind us of love and justice in our midst? I wonder what is being forgotten?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.