MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Gitchi Gumi

Dad and I worked pretty hard! It's been a weekend few days of hard work around the land- mowing the two foot grass, smashing wasps nests on the outhouse, sealing up other wasp nests on the roof overhang in front of the door, and painting and varnishing various surfaces. We've been having a great time though- Dad stopped yesterday at some of his old haunts- a boyscout camp where he worked for a summer (also my parent's honeymoon location) and an old state park where he had re-discovered wolves in Wisconsin! It was great to hear his old stories and think of how awesome this isolated environment is.

After sweating through the heat of the day, we stopped at a nearby lake to take a quick dip before picking Mom up at the "International Airport". The lake we swam in, though oligotrophic as well, was nothing compared to Lake Superior, pictured here. The 'rents and I met up with my old roommate and wifey, Sandy, and two family friends for some dinner followed by a trip to Sunset Point in Presque Isle where I got to dip my toes in Superior's frosty, clear water. It was the first time since I left Vitória that I felt like I was home again. I think I need to live near large bodies of water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.