Logging my PhD

By maggie_imagine

Women and Protest... Who's got time for that?

A penny’s worth of time

 

Are we ever good enough?

Does the protest ever end?

Standing in a the cold and rain

Society tae mend

Hanging oot the washing

Torn towels kept oot ae sight

The whitest sheets get front row

Gairdens all alike

Shopping done for neighbours too

The list is never done

The ring my mither gave me

Cutting through my skin

Memories ae Scrubbing boards

And mangles. (Were days longer then?)

Blankets chapped intae the grass

Making kid-oan tents

Fixing beds, cream eiderdowns

Running up and doon the stair

I’m fair done in, I feel I’ve run

 A marathon, or mair

Have you fed the dug the day?

Where's ma navy skirt?

What’s for dinner? Where’s the milk?

Can you run me to my work?

My heid is fairly bursting

If I could buy some time

I’d take a penny’s worth a' aw ae theirs

And keep it aw as mine

(name withheld, 2015. PhD Research, 'Women, community & volunteering: Who's got time for that?')

Artwork 'Washing Day' by Maggie Laidlaw @ Denny Community Art-wall project. https://www.facebook.com/DennyArtWall

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.