Leiflife

By Leiflife

A Day in The Life...

Thursday was family meeting day. It went very well, but has left me thoroughly exhausted. I am an artist playing the part of secretary. Taking notes and later typing them up. We meet because of my father's art, and various decisions that need to be made regarding his estate and the family business, Realizations Ltd. It is a worthwhile thing to do, and practically speaking, I receive my "living" because my father lived a creative life. While he still lived and worked, mostly in isolation, my mother supported the children - two boys and two girls - on a teacher's salary. It could be very rough going in many ways. 

I prepare for family meeting in various ways. First of all, I write a prayer. It is part of my job description to read this prayer at the start of the meeting. Then I type up the minutes from the last meeting, and make four copies with the prayer at the top. This done, I head for the kitchen and mix up a batch of brownies, Leif-style. This mean gluten free, with vanilla yogurt substituting for part of the butter. After two eggs are beaten into the mix, come dark chocolate chips, walnuts, and cranberries. Baked in a muffin tin for smaller muffins, they are more like brownie nuggets than the traditional brownie. Oh! A little cinnamon and coffee powder for extra flavor. I go a bit overboard, but maybe they sweeten dispositions a bit. And maybe baking is grounding and calming to Leif. 

Once they were out of the oven and sampled (yummy!). I drove to East Beach to clear my head, and see the pre-storm waters rising. I found this almost abstract there, but mostly I found water, sinking in wet sand to my ankles in order to take these photos. The extras show rather lively waves as the wind increases, and a view of swollen waters of the inlet covering much of the beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.