Testing seats

Took Jussi to see tractors as the local dealers had their exhibition day. I don't know why they still bother as most people go there just for the food and coffee, and to chat with each other. As the farm income has halved in a couple years, very few farmers actually consider buying anything.

Another alternative to spend the day would have been to participate in the farmers' demonstration in Helsinki. Maybe I'm lazy, but waking up a couple of hours earlier to get the cattle fed etc. before leaving didn't sound tempting. Here's a bit of news about it in Daily Mail.

These times remind me of one of the finest songs by John Cougar Mellencamp, "Rain on the Scarecrow":

Scarecrow on a wooden cross blackbird in the barn
Four hundred empty acres that used to be my farm
I grew up like my daddy did my grandpa cleared this land
When I was five I walked the fence while grandpa held my hand


Rain on the scarecrow, blood on the plow
This land fed a nation, this land made me proud
And son I'm just sorry there's no legacy for you now
Rain on the scarecrow blood on the plow


I certainly hope there'll be legacy for Jussi after me (if he wants it then)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.