My Book of the Year so far!

We went to see 'The Theory of Everything' a while ago and were absolutely staggered at Eddie Redmayne's astonishing performance. To portray such a well-known figure as Stephen Hawking in the grip of Motor Neurone Disease demands a huge talent - there were many moments during the film when I forgot that it wasn't a documentary

In the last few days I've been reading the book that it was based on, Jane Hawking's 'Travelling to Infinity',  Before I'd got through more than a few pages I realised that she is a truly remarkable woman, someone who managed to balance the demands of her own career with the huge responsibility of an increasingly crippled husband and their three young children.

An intellectual in her own right who travelled all over the world with Stephen, Jane has a wonderful way with words and though the story has a less than happy ending I can barely put it down! A very worthwhile read!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.