Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Day 2 outside

Today was another wonderful day of milky sun.  The birds are getting very strident and possessive.  You can't avoid knowing they are nesting.  I took my lunch and a bottle of water out onto the green and sat on a bench beneath the sweet chestnuts.  And of course I pointed my camera at whatever came into its lens.

Here is one of the chestnut trees.  From my bedroom window I've been noticing this branch all winter as the bark peels back and it gets whiter,  Now, from this angle, it looks like some kind of strange spirit dangling its long legs across the tree.  And against the pale blue I could see all the  leaf buds looking as though they'd really like to split open.

On the way back I passed the weeping willow, whose leaf buds were actually opening, and the holly looking dark.  All it's berries are brown or gone.  Lovely holly, but - this side of the world at least - I think we're all ready for spring

So that's me for today.  A lovely evening to you all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.